Who Won The Last F1 World Championship

Formula 1 is the highest class of single-seater auto racing sanctioned by the Féderation Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA) and owned by the Formula One Group. Since its inaugural season in 1950, the FIA Formula One World Championship has remained one of the premier forms of automobile racing. The Formula One season consists of a series of races, known as Grands Prix. These races are held both on public roads as well as one purpose-built circuit in various countries around the world. There are two annual World Championships in a Formula One season, one for the drivers and the other for constructors.

The Formula One cars are the fastest regulated road-course cars globally due to the speed it achieves through large amounts of aerodynamic downforce. These cars are mid-engined, hybrid, open cockpit, open wheel single-seaters. Their chassis is made up of carbon-fiber components which makes them light but at the same time strong and rigid. An F1 car including the driver’s weight but excluding fuel weighs 740kg which is the minimum weight set by regulations. F1 cars are to be constructed by the racing teams while designs and manufacturing can be outsourced. The cars are powered by turbocharged 1.6 liter V6 hybrid engines. F1 cars are capable of going from 0 to 160km/h (100mph) and back to 0 in five seconds.

Formula One World Championship

A Formula One World Champion is a racing driver, or automobile constructor who has been awarded said title by the FIA. The Formula One World Championships have been awarded since 1950 the World Driver’s Championship and since 1958 the World Constructors’ Championship. These titles are awarded to those who have accumulated the required points during the Formula One season by participating in relevant Grands Prix held in the same year.

The Formula One World Drivers’ Champion and the Formula One World Constructor’s Champion are awarded these titles after scoring the highest points using the Formula One point scoring system.

About The 2018 FIA Formula One World Championship

The 2018 Formula One World Championship was an automobile racing car championship for F1 cars and the 69th running of the Formula One World Championship. Drivers and their teams competed in twenty-one Grands Prix for the World Drivers’ Championship and World Constructors’ Championship titles. There were 21 entering teams with a total of 22 drivers, all teams except the Sahara Force India F1 Team and the Racing Point Force India F1 team completed all the races.

During the season, there were a few team changes. McLaren terminated their engine partnership with Honda stating Honda’s repeated failure to supply a reliable, competitive power unit as the reason why the partnership was ended. They then entered a three-year deal with Renault who had parted ways with Toro Rosso. Sauber, on the other hand, renewed their partnership with Ferrari and upgraded to more current specification power units.

In July 2018 at the Hungarian Grand Prix, the Force India team was placed into administration and eventually bought by a consortium led by Lawrence Stroll. The racing assets and operations of Force India were purchased through Racing Point Uk Ltd. As a result of this, Sahara Force India was excluded from the Constructors’ Championship. A new team created by the merger “Racing Point Force India” applied for late entry and begun participating in the championship form the Belgian Grand Prix.  F1 rules specify that constructors include the chassis name which made Racing Point UK keep ‘Force India” as part of their constructor name. It was generally agreed that the prize money won by Sahara Force India be retained by the Racing Point Force India.

Torro Ross signed on 2016 GP2 Series champion Pierre Gasly and two-time World Endurance Champion Brendon Hartley as their full-time drivers for the 2018 Formula One Season. Charles Leclerc, the reigning Formula 2 Champion was hired by Sauber to replace Pascal Wehrlein. Williams also hired Sargey Sirotkin as a replacement for Felipe Massa who had retired at the end of the Formula One 2017 Championship.

The 2018 Formula One Calendar and Races

There were 21 Grands Prix races in the 20198 Formula One World Championship calendar. The race began at the Australian Grand Prix held on the Melbourne Grand Prix Circuit, Melbourne on the 25th of March, 2018. The final race, the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix was held on 25th November 2018 at the Yas Marina Circuit, Abu Dhabi.

For the first time since 2018, the French Grand Prix returned to the Formula One Calendar and was held on the 24th of June 2018 at the Circuit de Nevers Magny-Cous.  Another returnee was the German Grand Prix which returned after its one-year absence and was held in the Hockenheimring. On the other hand, the Malaysian Grand Prix was discontinued causing the Russian Grand Prix to be moved from April to September filling its vacancy.

The Australian Grand Prix held in Melbourne was won by Sebastian Vettel and Ferrari, Lewis Hamilton and Kimi Raikkonen came second and third respectively. Vettel also won the Bahrain Grand Prix with Valtteri Bottas and Hamilton coming in second and third. Vettel’s leading stride was also continued in Canada, Britain, and Belgium.  Hamilton won in Azerbaijan, Spain, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Singapore, Russia, Japan, Brazil, and Abu Dhabi.

2018 Formula One World Championship Winners

33-year-old Lewis Hamilton won the 2018 Formula One Driver’s Championship, becoming the third man in F1 history to win five world titles. This record was initially set by Michael Schumacher and was later followed by Juan Manuel Fanigo. Winning a total of 11 Grand Prix races, Hamilton finished with a total of 408 points emerging the 2018 World Drivers’ Championship winner. With a total of 320 points, Vettel came second in the 2018 Formula One Grand Championship. Despite inning only one race, Kimi Raikkonen finished third with a total of 251 points.

For the World Constructors’ Championship, Mercedes emerged the winner, coming both first and second with a total of 655 points. With 571 points, Ferrari followed holding the third position.

The 2018 Formula One World Championship was very exciting and thrilling especially with the reintroduction of France and Germany into the F1 Calendar. F1 fans generally agree that the 2018 F1 World Championship was one of the best recorded.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *